Caring for our forests globally
National Sites

PEFC Notification of Certification Bodies by PEFC Council (PEFC GD 1006:2012)

Only certification bodies in compliance with PEFC requirements and recognized by PEFC by are authorized to provide PEFC Chain of Custody certification services. Requirements include, for example, that the certification body is accredited by the relevant national accreditation body, which in turn must be a member of the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) to demonstrate competence and independence.

Authorization – or "notification" - is granted by "authorized bodies" - usually national PEFC members - in countries where these exists, and by the PEFC Council in countries where they don't exist (any country not on this list). PEFC GD 1006:2012 contains requirements for certification bodies providing chain of custody certification services in countries without authorised bodies.

PEFC GD 1006:2012 replaced PEFC GD 1006:2010 and entered into force on 1st April 2013.

Related documents

More information:

PEFC Notification of Certification Bodies by PEFC Council (PEFC GD 1006:2012) (381.34 kB)

PEFC Certified

Forests area: 313 million ha
Forest owners: > 750,000
Companies (CoC): > 19,800

(as of December 2017)
Global Stats |

PEFC Standards Revision

Making the best even better

Get the latest information as we revise our international standards and guides!

PEFC Newsletter

Your email address

Get Certified!

Contact a PEFC-notified certifier in your country for further information about PEFC certification.